Online Communities

I’ve participated in several communities online. I’m part of several
yahoo and google groups, most recently a group of educators discussing
the world of podcasting in k12 spaces. Additionally, I’m part of
several listservs and wikis at work. My gut reaction, I’m not a fan.

Before
coming to the UW, I was part of an online degree program that I found
to be not very helpful. I need the face to face interaction in order to
be successful. Although, on the flipside, I met my partner Mikael
online in a chatroom. So, I can’t be too critical. Like any group, I
feel we’ll gravitate towards a group for the time it serves a purpose
in our lives. The online world just makes it easier to geo-shift; if
there aren’t people that share a similar ideal close to home, I know
there will be others online that do.

For an additional read, I liked this editorial about the online community and the architecture of the space dictating "community" popularity.  Is less truly more?

The Second Coming of Community Websites by Bradley Kay

RPohl

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

